Chasing a bullet point : Chapter 19

Janita and I went downstairs and got lunch from the doner Kebab place. While we sat outside and ate, she kept getting messages from people she’d hung out with in the party last night. When you’re single (irrespective of whether you want to mingle or not), people of the opposite sex want to talk to you in the hope that something could happen. But, if you possess fellowship of the ring, then there is no scope for hope, right? Later that evening, Max and I changed two trains and reached Gottico, which is the old town of Barcelona. It is full of old buildings, cobbled streets, buzzing with people of all ethnicities and street side restaurants. At that moment, I realised how different it is to visit a city as a tourist and be there as a resident.

Whenever you visit a city, you usually go to the most touristy place because of the easy access to it and also for the variety of food and drinks available. We make our judgements about cities based on this one really happening part of the city and just carelessly extrapolate the rest of the city linearly. We reached this huge square called P/ Riel meaning the royal plaza which has a fountain at the centre and restaurants all around. It was buzzing with music and energy and smelt of great sea food. I saw people devour their plates of Paella and couldn’t wait for Karthik to come in October as I was saving my Paella virginity for Karthik.

We reached Tarantos where we had planned to watch a Flamenco performance. There were 5 musicians on stage including a lead singer. It was first just singing and then the dancers came in (one guy and one girl). I thought the girl’s dress was a bit ugly or maybe I was expecting something on the lines of what I’d seen in Zindagi na Milegi dobara. I was hoping there would be a change of costume and luckily there was. There was something magical about the cantar (singing), along with the palmas (clapping) that it made it so mystical and so beaty at the same time. I really didn’t realise how time flew and the show got over but I could still hear the gitaring in my head. Flamenco is basically a folk song and dance from Andalusia performed by a community of people called Gitanos (They have their roots from a Rajasthani tribe called Romani who migrated from India back in 600 AD). So the Flamenco has influences of India and Africa (en route to Andalusia). I would love to see a more local performance on the streets of Seville someday.

We decided to walk back to the metro station but along one of the narrow alleys (reminded me of Venice), we saw this quaint little bar that we decided to go into. I had never seen anything like that before. The walls of the bar were completely covered with post-its with messages from people who’d visited this bar over the years. I was lost in reading them for a few minutes. Unfortunately, there was no food being served so I had to have a drink even though I was on an empty stomach. Two cosmopolitans later, I was out. I can’t remember how I got home, but two metros later and some walking, I was home and I passed out with the sounds of the Flamenco still in my head.

Leave a Reply

